DIY · Guest Posts · Spain · Travelogue

Day 1485: It’s Curtains.

I’m so close to being done with these curtains—I just have to fix the position of one hook, and then I’m done. I was working well into dinnertime, though, so I stopped short (because really, I’m not fully done until I’ve cleaned everything up.) I’ll finish up tomorrow. And then I’ll be done… FOREVER! BWA HA HA!

(Yeah, that’s probably gonna come back to bite me some day…)

I learned a few things while I was working on the curtains:

  • There’s nothing like overhead work to make you realize you forget to use deodorant.
  • Don’t bother sewing with regular quilting thread; just go straight for the dental floss.
  • Standing on tiptoes on a soft, uneven surface is very hard work.
  • There was an entire underground (literally) cinema in the catacombs of Paris once.

(That last one was from a podcast I was listening to while I worked.)

Anyhow, I give it another hour of work—two at the most—before I declare victory over the curtains.

*********And now… Mr. December*********

No Ruining this Day

We ended Passover last night, so this morning, bought some bread and turkey slices (5 Euro), chopped up a tomato, and voila  eso es todo, breakfast sandwiches! And lunch snacks. Made some coffee in a Spanish French Press, and we’re good to go to do two pages of math. R is very slow at mental multiplication, and doesn’t score highly on our 2 digit x 1 digit multiplication drills. But she did twenty-four 2 digit x 2 digit multiplication on paper in under 10 minutes, all correctly. What is going on here? But the quest to get her mental math better is looking up!

First stop: Roman Ruins in Italica. The Romans seemed pretty amazing, and built an awesome city in Seville. Today we saw the remains… Yet another destroyed civilization. I’m sure they felt like the good times would never end, and that’s how I feel about our current civ. Maybe it too will crumble, but I expect to be long dead.

The ruins had a lot of fancy floor murals, which was one way to show off your wealth. From those, I learned what kind of fun they had.

Terry with an intricate Roman mosaic.
From the sign: “… The Donysian rites were very complex and sometimes excessive. Transvestism, frenetic dances, wine and sex orgies…”

“What they describe is a lot like Burning Man, you should go” added one of the moms in our group. “I just found out I was pregnant before I got there, so no alcohol or drugs for me”. But still orgies maybe? “What about travelling with kids?” I asked (I would like to go one day). “You could do that, but then it would be a different trip”. She probably meant no orgies, but I didn’t ask. Her husband is arranging cocktails for the adults tonight – maybe I’ll go. 

Another room had different gods on the floor, and a helpful sign showing what was, at the time, the best review of the days of the week (since supplanted by the release of Rebecca Black’s Friday).

Mosaic of the planets, spain.

Did you know Sunday was named after the sun? It is. Monday was a bit harder, but yes, it is indeed Moon Day. Some of the others got switched up into other Gods, but a few still remain (figuring it out is left as an exercise to the reader).

R met several friends, leaving me literally carrying the bag but free to wander around unfettered. So I got to take my time and actually look at everything, including a long rest at the amphitheatre (which let me recover my spell slots). Here is our group photo, with only a few people missing. I’m standing on my own.

Group photo.

Next we went to a local place to eat. We had called ahead to tell them a big group was coming, and we were the only ones in the restaurant. Still, they managed to be as disorganized as possible. I ordered, and then a while later we were all called over to order again for some reason. They forgot items, and delivered things to the wrong places, calling out random names. I don’t know how this can happen at a place that must do this every single day. Anyways, we eventually got our meal. I usually order steak for R since there are so many things she doesn’t eat. Here is half of it

Picture of a partially eaten steak.
Ed. note: Ew. The inclusion of this photo is not a reflection on the editorial judgment of this blog. I really should set some ground rules with my guest posters.

Food wasn’t bad though. Back to the apartment for a rest. 

We went out at 7 for some pizza and churros. Churros didn’t look good so we passed. Pizza place doesn’t open until 8:00. Geez. In the meantime, R snuck up on me, and said “you’re terrified, you’re afraid, you’re terrified, you’re, uh, terrified, uh, you’re afraid”. I stopped quaking for a bit to pull up a thesaurus, which helped her a lot. I have never felt so spooked, startled, nervous, fearful, tremulous, disconcerted, timorous, and cowed.

Tomorrow was supposed to be Magic Isle (Isla Magica) which is a theme park, but I killed it since the reviews were so bad. Instead we’ll chill, do some homework, and go to a museum with the family of the girl R is friends with. And maybe get some more mango ice cream. But first: I need to do my own laundry for the first time in many years.

Leave a comment