A pain in the... · Fibro Flares · snarky

Day 1471: A Night Out

Tonight I did something that I almost never do: I went out to dinner with a group of friends. Everything was hurting, I went anyway, and I’m glad I did.

I’m having all kinds of deep thoughts about what we value and why; what activities are considered “fun” and what is “necessary.” Maybe we should be encouraging people to stay home from work if they don’t even have the energy for social activities, rather than the exact opposite?

(Speaking in generalities. Please don’t send the argumentative comments and emails my way. I don’t have the energy for that kind of thing.)

For two and a half hours I had fun and almost completely forgot about my pain. That’s more effective than Advil. Maybe I should go out with friends every night.


On the lighter side… (well, a bit lighter, anyway…) I came up with this witty response to “I really wish you didn’t have all these pains and problems”:

“Think of it this way: if I was always going at 100%, if I was firing on all cylinders, the world wouldn’t be able to contain my awesomeness.”

(Look, nobody ever listed modesty as one of my virtues.)

One thought on “Day 1471: A Night Out

  1. You are awesome!

    The older I am, the more I agree about the importance of being able to spend time and energy on those people and activities you love. Why time in the makery is so good for you. Why it is important for Mr.D to take the time to unstress from the reasons why work paid him.   I think he must have been VERY good at what his work was but that comes with costs.  I takes a long time to unwind those costs; to relax into the peace.

    SO GLAD YOU HAD A GOOD EVENING!!!!

Leave a comment