crafty · DIY · Kids

Day 1470: A toy for all ages.

Is there any toy more intriguing, more exciting, more creativity-provoking than the humble cardboard box?

I’ll save you the trouble of answering: no, there is not.

I finally bought a Yogibo beanbag that I’ve been low-grade coveting for the last six years. It’s comfortable and gives fabulous back support. I thought the kids would all be fighting me to sit in the Yogibo, but that never happened; they were too busy fighting each other for the boxes it came in.

E ended up with the smaller of the two boxes, and managed to find herself a couple more to build herself a box fort with an entryway and a living room. She worked for hours, using tape, plastic bolts and nuts, and various other loose parts; then she invited us in to see her handiwork.

K took a much simpler approach. Having ended up with the larger box (which was five feet long,) she just crawled right in with her duvet. I went up to remind her that she had homework to do, and this is what I saw:

Blurry photo of a duvet wrapped around what looks to be a human.

There was a pitiful whine from somewhere under that blanket, so I’m fairly certain it was K in there.

I’m very pleased with this development. I get my super-comfy beanbag, and they get their cardboard hideouts. Everybody wins.

One thought on “Day 1470: A toy for all ages.

  1. Had to look at picture of this sort of bean bag chair. Impressed by your power to rise up from such a low seat. Reminds me that I am not as young as I once was. Chair DOES look cozy to snuggle up in!

    Big boxes are always such a joy to play with at any age. Glad there were two to be sorted out and used. IMPRESSED by both creations.

Leave a comment