If this van ain’t rockin’…

by Decemberbaby

I woke up a few days ago with that achy feeling in the back of my throat. You know the one.

“Ugh,” I groaned. “I think I’m getting sick. How did that happen?”

Mr. December rolled his eyes and said, “You know that the kids drink out of your bedside water glass all the time, don’t you?”

Actually, I didn’t. In their eagerness to share with me, the children have given me a wicked sinus cold which has since migrated into my lungs. I’m on puffers, but also trying to decide at what point I should seek medical attention for the sensation of a brick sitting on top of my lungs.

But that’s neither here nor there. The real point of this blog post (aside from ensuring that I post at least once a week) is that I’ve made an important decision: from now on, we need to keep an inflatable mattress and appropriate bedding in the van at all times.

No, seriously. If I have to drive around with the equivalent of an entire living room on wheels, I might as well have a cozy place to nap while I’m waiting for my children’s extracurricular programs to end. I’m expending way too much energy just trying to remain upright as I watch my daughter bounce around on a trampoline. I wish I could just lie down right here, but vinyl tile and fluorescent lights don’t make for a healing environment.

So, a BYObed it is. Also, a bumper sticker: “If this van ain’t rockin’, don’t come a-knockin’!”

Leave a Reply

