Amazing what I can do in forty-five minutes.

by Decemberbaby

On Monday night, as I packed K’s backpack for her first day of camp, I discovered that she had no shorts and only one t-shirt. Don’t ask me how it happened – I don’t know, but I suspect it has something to do with grandparents who take our kids away fully dressed and bring them back in pajamas – but it was a tense few minutes of thinking that my daughter might have to go to camp half-naked. And so I raided my fabric stash and the clothing recycling pile and found these:

I took some striped stretchy knit fabric and a maternity t-shirt downstairs at 9:15 p.m. At 10:00 p.m. I came back upstairs with the finished product. On Tuesday morning I dressed K in it and cajoled her to pose for the camera:

It was so comfortable that she ran off right away, and all I could do was chase after her with my iPod in camera mode, hoping that a picture would turn out. I know you’ll forgive the blurriness of the photos – she literally refused to stop moving.

The awesome thing about re-using maternity shirts is that you get to use the lovely empire-line gathers. It looks like I spent lots of time gathering the fabric and sewing in the empire line, when really I just cut the tunic around that feature of my t-shirt.

The shorts were simple. I think changing the needle (I used a double needle) and threading the machine were more time-consuming than the actual sewing.

The best part? I didn’t have to go shopping… and I have at least three more maternity shirts downstairs. At forty-five minutes per outfit, K can be stylishly outfitted for the rest of camp.

Leave a Reply

