Just the facts, ma’am

by Decemberbaby

I’ve been gone from the blog a long, long time. Tonight I’ll give you the factual rundown on what I’ve been doing, and then I’ll do some other, more reflective, or maybe photographic, blogging this week.

Right. So when I left off, I was going to prioritize exercise and sleep, yes? I did that. Well, actually I prioritized exercise, but sleep suffered as a result. In response I increased my coffee intake and cemented my status as a newborn coffee addict. Anybody want to recommend a good coffee machine?

Next, everything happened, all at once. The designer fabrics for my nephew’s quilt finally arrived in my mailbox, the same day that my sister-in-law went into labour. I decided that I’d go to Vancouver for the bris, and from that moment on I was hell-bent on getting the quilt finished in time to take it with me (for those feeling clueless, the bris is held on the baby’s eighth day of life, which meant that I had just under a week to start and finish a quilt.) Every spare second was spent cutting, designing, sewing, ironing… I managed to finish it. What I didn’t manage to do was take a picture on my camera, so now I’m at the mercy of my brother and sis-in-law to send me the photos from their DSLR.

I traveled to Vancouver with a baby and a four-year-old, both of whom totally aced the flight. They were fabulous. We spent four days there and returned last night (this morning?) around 2:00 a.m. I didn’t fall asleep until after three.

That’s pretty much it, actually. A lot of quilting (and I discovered an awesome local quilt shop that makes me wish I could buy everything in it.) A lot of travel. Some touristy stuff, a bris, a lot of eating, and some cooing at a gorgeous baby boy – my first nephew.

And now I’m back, and my to-do list is several miles long. Let the fun begin!

3 Comments to “Just the facts, ma’am”

  1. congrats on the birth of your nephew… i totally understand the sleep and exercise thing im having an issue myself. if you can upwith a solution please let me in on it.

  2. Welcome back and Mazel tov!

  3. Wow! What a great whirlwind of activity! I can also relate to the sleep/exercise dilemma. I’ve prioritized sleep, but mainly because I am so largely pregnant, the idea of really exercising is just kind of, well, it’s going to have to wait a little bit.

    As for coffee, I use a French Press. I got an unbreakable one (you know, what with the kids and all), and all I do is put a scoop of ground coffee in it, pour boiling water over it, let it steep for 4 minutes, then press the plunger thingy down, and ta-da! Coffee! I like it because my kitchen is very small, and my larger coffee/espresso maker just takes up too much space right now.

    Also, mazel tov on your nephew! And on starting and finishing a quilt so quickly! Wow!

Leave a Reply

