I know how she does it, part deux

by Decemberbaby

I’ve spent a couple of hours this evening crafting invitations for K’s birthday. For those of you wondering how I managed that with a six-week-old baby who won’t sleep unless she’s on someone, here is the view from over my shoulder:

Speaking of K’s birthday party, I’m alternately excited and apprehensive about it. I don’t yet know all the kids in her class, and she doesn’t talk about school very much. I’m taking her word on who her friends are and who she’d like to invite. I would hate to exclude someone, but on the other hand I’m not inviting 20 kids to a four-year-old’s birthday party. That’s just too many, especially in winter, and especially when I’m hosting the party at home rather than at some party place.

So I’ve tried to keep the party small, despite the fact that we have shul friends, neighbourhood friends, family friends, and school friends. This year I’m trying to stick with kids with whom K has actually interacted or played in the last six months. Hopefully nobody’s feelings will be hurt.

And I’m excited because K wants a camping party, and I’m just bubbling over with neat ideas. I won’t go into details before the party (but oh, how I want to) since some of our guests’ parents read this blog. Suffice it to say that our inspiration was last year’s “winter camping” but it’ll be even cooler. And the invitations look awesome – I’ll be posting a tutorial in a few days.

And now… it’s Sunday night. I’d better start the oatmeal for tomorrow morning. Sweet dreams, y’all.

Leave a Reply

