Does this tie make my napkin look fat?

by Decemberbaby

We’re organizing a retirement party for my father-in-law, and I’m working on the decorations.

The theme is “no more ties!” because, holy cow, this man hates wearing a tie. With a passion.

In that spirit, I present to you a terrible snapshot of my prototype napkin ring.

The colours in the photo are a bit off, but you get the idea. I have three different fabrics: this peacock-feather pattern, a blue argyle, and a green plaid (I think).

Next up: how to turn his ugly old ties into bouquets of flowers for the centerpiece. Or a runner for the buffet table. Or something decorative.

2 Comments to “Does this tie make my napkin look fat?”

  1. How cute! For the tie bouquet, could you use pipe cleaners wrapped around the ties to hold them upright in a vase?

  2. Love it!
    There are a million things you can do with the ties. Tie up balloons, make camera straps, apron straps, etc.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

