Under the placenta tree

by Decemberbaby

Yes, I’m one of those people. On Thursday morning we planted N’s placenta under our new peach tree. (and yes, it’s been in our freezer for over ten months.) A close friend was on hand to witness it, and she was completely grossed out. I wasn’t at all.

Then while filling in the hole I saw a fabulously fat, juicy worm. I’m fascinated by earthworms and gratified to know that our soil is good enough to have hundreds of worms in one small patch of earth. Anyhow, this worm was on top of the pile of dirt and needed to get back in the ground.

“I’d pick him up,” I volunteered, “I actually kind of want to, but it’s sort of gross.”

My friend stared at me for a moment and said, “Okay, you’re totally cool with the placenta, but an earthworm grosses you out?”

Well, when she put it like that, it did sound silly.

And so I picked up the worm – it was pretty neat, actually, soft and alive but not slimy at all – and put him back into the ground under the placenta tree.

I can’t wait to use my new worm-holding skills to gross out my unsuspecting kids…

Leave a Reply

