Resolving the clutter problem

by Decemberbaby

I have clutter. A lot of clutter.

I’m not like those people on “hoarders” (or whatever that show is called). It’s not endangering anyone’s life (although it probably has caused a couple of trip-and-falls). It’s just annoying. It makes my house look and feel… not-so-fresh. It makes it difficult to tidy up. It makes it hard to use rooms as they’re meant to be used.

But I know how to resolve this. It doesn’t involve taking a vow of poverty or living a spartan existence. Are you ready? Here it is:

First, I’m going to catalogue the clutter.

See, certain areas keep getting cluttered up. The dining room table is one. The kitchen counters, especially at my calendar station. The front hall. At the same time, there are places that never get cluttered: inside the kitchen drawers and most of the living room.

What’s the difference between the places that get cluttered and the places that don’t? Trite as it sounds, my Buby (grandmother) was right… “a place for everything, and everything in its place”. I didn’t really get it until I saw the kitchen drawers of someone who has apparently never heard of a cutlery tray. Knives, forks, spoons, straws, chopsticks, and other stuff were all mixed together. I’m not a particularly neat person, but my cutlery has always been stored neatly in compartmentalized trays. Maybe the solution to all clutter is this easy.

So here I am, about to categorize the clutter. What exactly is ending up on the dining room table? Why is it there? Does it have a home? Is its home inconvenient or too far from where the item gets used?

Once I have the answers, I hope that I’ll be able to find a convenient, well-situated home for all the repeat clutter offenders.

Leave a Reply

