Jewy goodness

Our family haggadah

Well, I spent hours reading different haggadot in the store. Finally I bought five, hoping that I could cobble together something good from them. I’ll post a bit of a review later, so you know what I chose and why. For now I’ll give you the titles:

  • A Night of Questions
  • The Feast of Freedom
  • A Different Night (didn’t buy this one… I’ve had it for many years)
  • A Family Haggadah II
  • Dayenu! A Passover Haggadah for Families and Children
  • The Animated Haggadah (another one I’ve had for a while)
  • Gates of Freedom Haggadah

Last night I made a list of which sections to take from what haggadah, and I’ve just spent two hours scanning them all. I hope to make something that looks at least a little polished, so it’s into Word (for Mac – it has some really decent graphic design features) I go.

I’d really like to make the final PDF available to my readers, but I’m not sure about the copyright law and so forth… can anyone enlighten me?

3 thoughts on “Our family haggadah

  1. Assur d’rabbanan, I’m afraid, due to dina d’malchusa which prohibits such use. Short excerpts are permitted for use in reviews – afaik, that’s about it.
    It is an absolutely BRILLIANT idea, though!!!

  2. Oh course none of what you are doing is allowed by copyright law.
    But, I will certainly take a pdf copy and not tell anyone! 😉
    This is something that I have been dying to do for years. I mean YEARS. No one speaks Hebrew in my family anymore (except me and my brother), so I wanted to extract Hebrew parts and transliterate them so that at least we can have some Hebrew at the Seder. And also, to make it very child friendly. (And concise- see: child friendly!)
    I THINK the one we use the most is “A Different Night”- my mom bought 15 copies a few years ago.
    Chag sameach!

Leave a comment