It’s back! Work-in-Progress Wednesday!

by Decemberbaby

The sad thing is that I don’t even know where to start. Do I cull the children’s clothes (again) so that their drawers aren’t overflowing with three sizes of stuff? Finish taping together the foam playmat so that K can’t dismantle it to play with the “polka dots”? Do something about the awful mess that is my kitchen? Or maybe declutter my bedside table again?

I’m not even mentioning the creative stuff I want to do, like sewing a felt omer calendar for K or making some placemats for the dining room so we can stop messing up our nice table. Or, you know, getting things ready for the garden. So much to do, so much procrastination. You can see the bind I’m in.

Are you a procrastinator? Join me, and we’ll get stuff done together! Leave a comment with a link to your own blog, where you’ll post the following:

  1. A description of your work-in-progress, including a “before” picture if possible.
  2. A clearly stated goal (“I will finish organizing and putting away all of the kids’ clothes”, not “I’ll do something about my kids’ messy closet”)
  3. A link back to this post, so that your readers can get inspired by other WIP Wednesday projects.

Next week, we’ll all post our progress and (hopefully) our new goals.

And without further ado, here’s my submission:

In Progress: Living room playmat

Long story short, these playmat pieces have been in storage for at least two years. It’s time to break them out, since N is starting to work on crawling and walking and would probably appreciate a softer landing.

These tiles are pretty, but they don’t stay together as well as your standard puzzle-piece mats. To keep K from dismantling it, I’m going to use duct tape on the underside to secure the seams. Depending on how that affects the traction of the mats on the floor, I might also need to glue some non-skid fabric to the underside so that the mat doesn’t slide.

Here’s a “before” picture. Notice how some of the dots don’t fit in their circles so well, and how the tiles can easily separate from each other. I might have to do some hand-picking of pieces to make sure it looks good. And while we’re on the subject, should I keep the yellow (there’s no yellow elsewhere in the room), or should I stick to the blue-brown-white scheme I already have going?

 

Your turn now. What are you working on this week?

Leave a Reply

