it begins…

by Decemberbaby

Mr. December’s paternity leave, that is. He’s taking five months off work so that he can, in his own words, “spend more time with my possessions”. Yeah, that’s what he told the guys at work. He’s also been really clear on the fact that he doesn’t want to do any extra parenting while he’s off – this is just a government-sanctioned, job-protected way of taking off a huge chunk of time for the first time since he started working 12 years ago.

And I was cool with that, really, because it’s his job and related benefits that enable us to live the way we do, where we do. His salary supports us all so I can get on with the important things in life, like mothering and laundry and napping and blogging. And yet, if he thinks he gets to sleep through the morning getting-out-of-the-house routine, he’s got something else coming.

What I’m looking forward to is being able to work on the important stuff with him at a time of day when I’m mentally fresh. Seriously, he still doesn’t get that discussing our budget or investment options does not work when I’ve already been up and functioning for 12 hours. It’ll be nice to be able to do social things, just the two of us, while K is in school and the babysitter is here with N. It’ll be nice to not have to cram things into our evenings… maybe that will help us get to bed earlier.

And… I don’t know about you, but I work better when there’s someone around. You know, someone who would know if I was just sitting at my computer all day surfing blogs and eating bonbons. (On a side note, what exactly are bon bons, and where do I get them?) Anyhow, I’m more likely to be productive with Mr. December at home… so stay tuned for some great projects.

3 Comments to “it begins…”

  1. OMG, would that be heaven or… well, NOT heaven? I like Ted and all, but we chafe on the days we’re home together. I am super-private and hate having anyone looking over my shoulder.
    Also, Ted and I have been co-parenting since we MEG; I doubt we’d know what to do if there were no kids around. 😮

    (I’ll let you know on Tuesday, when both kids are in camp and we’ll be home alone…on second thought, maybe not)

  2. Okay, MET, not MEG. Typos = going to bed time!!!

  3. For the record, I have no idea what “bon bons” are, but I would have loved to indulge during my year of maternity leave! I always imagine Peggy Bundy (from Married with Children) sitting on the sofa, digging into a huge box of chocolates.

    I hope you get to enjoy some “me” time during your husband’s paternity leave. May it be an amazing five months!

Leave a Reply

