Bakfiets

by Decemberbaby

I’m so excited. We’ve put down a deposit on a Bakfiets. A black one, with a silver rain cover for the kids. It should arrive towards the end of March or beginning of April. Here, take a look:

 

I love biking. It’s fun, which means I can get lots of exercise without feeling like I’m exercising. And it’s free, i.e. no parking costs, insurance, or gas. It’s social – rather than traveling in a bubble (i.e. private car) we can wave to the people around us and even stop and offer a lift to a friend. It brings us closer to nature, slows down our travel, and allows us to really notice the world around us.

Mr. December and I are hoping to go car-free at least five days a week this spring, summer, and fall. The bakfiets will allow me to take K to school, do my grocery shopping, visit friends, and even haul home plants and new project materials.

Boy oh boy, I can’t wait.

4 Comments to “Bakfiets”

  1. That is awesome. I”ve never seen one of those before!!

  2. That is so cool. I’ve never seen one of those before either. How heavy a load can they take? I have a lot of groceries. A lot.

Leave a Reply

