Advice at 6:30 a.m.

by Decemberbaby

Dear Snarky Advice Lady,

I am a psychiatrist. This morning I woke up with the flu, and I now have to cancel my appointments for the day. It’s 6:30 in the morning. Is it ok to call my clients now, given that they’re all mothers with small babies?

Dr. E.

Dear Dr. E.,

It is NEVER okay to call people at 6:30 a.m. When I heard the phone ring this morning and looked at the clock, my first thought was, who died? That thought woke me up so completely that I was unable to get back to sleep. And as you know, sleep deprivation is a huge risk factor for postpartum depression. “First do no harm”, my backside!

You have shown an appalling lack of common sense. Next time, leave a voicemail for your receptionist and ask her to cancel your morning appointments. Or get with the twenty-first century and send a text message or email to your first patients of the day.

But never, EVER call me at 6:30 again. Ever.

Oh, and feel better soon.

– SAL (Snarky Advice Lady)

5 Comments to “Advice at 6:30 a.m.”

  1. Hmmm… you’re right: at 6:30, I would definitely have felt panicked and then annoyed. But somehow, after 7, I might not have minded, and might have been happy to get a heads-up so early in the day. Okay, a bit annoyed… but I do like a heads-up, and even don’t mind that sort of thing waking me up.

  2. P.S. And while you are learning phone etiquette, make sure you receive your annual flu shot so you will not have to inconvenience your patients in the future.

  3. Wow. I might not have been happy for a 6:30 call either, but DAMN that was snarky!! You can never please everyone. If you text messaged her she would have either been awoken by that or request you pay the 20 cents for the message!

    • Yes, it was snarky. That’s why I blogged it and filed it under “snarky” rather than saying this to my doctor’s face. But seriously, 6:30 a.m. is NEVER an appropriate time to call someone’s home unless you are close with them and know for a fact that they are routinely awake and alert at that hour.

  4. You could call my house at 6:30 AM and someone would probably be awake. This morning, I was wide awake at 4:45 AM, and was out the door running by just a bit after 6:00. I would have gone running earlier, but it was too dark. I was waiting for the sun to at least pretend it was going to come up soon.

Leave a Reply

