The first EVER Work-in-Progress Wednesday!

by Decemberbaby

I don’t know about you, but I have a ton of projects waiting for me. I get ideas and before I can follow through, I’m onto the next big thing. It’s annoying, it’s frustrating, I rarely get to celebrate the completion of a project, and frankly, it’s expensive. I have materials for all kinds of awesome things just sitting around. I probably have enough projects to keep me occupied for the next six months, if I do one per week.

So I’m doing what any self-respecting blogger would do: I’m starting a meme. More on that later. Right now, let me explain my works-in-progress.

Completed! K’s cleaning corner

As I explained here, part of the montessori philosophy is that kids need to have the right-sized tools to be able to do meaningful work in their environment. And what happens when small children do meaningful work? Yup, sometimes it gets messy. When it gets messy, mummy doesn’t clean it up. No, the child has to go and get their cleaning tools, use them, and put them away neatly.

We’ve been having trouble with that part. I mounted some hooks on the side of K’s play kitchen, but they were adhesive and fell off in short order. This week’s goal was to create a clean-up station for K where all of her tools can be kept accessible, charged (hand vac), and off the floor.

Mission accomplished! It took me about 30 minutes, including setting up and learning to use my new jigsaw. All of the hardware/materials were leftovers for other projects. Have a look:

Hand vac with charger, spray bottle of water/peroxide mix, hand broom and dustpan, bucket with rag and sponge.

 

In progress: Sweatshirt rehab

K has a lovely pink hoodie that we just adore. Sadly, she can’t wear it right now because somebody (I won’t name names, Mum) put it in the microwave to dry it off so K could wear it home. The front of the shirt is burnt. My goal is to take off the existing logo applique and replace it with a cute cow I found at the fabric store. Here’s the before shot:

The microwave is NOT for drying clothes. It just isn't. Notice the burn marks (and holes!) in the area of the logo.

I’ll post the “after” as part of next week’s Work-in-Progress Wednesday.

 

Now here’s the fun part:

Misery loves company. If you want to join Work-in-Progress Wednesdays, leave a comment with your name and blog URL. On your blog, post the following:

  • Your most recently completed project, if you have one. Include a short description, a photo, and a cost breakdown if possible.
  • Your goal for your current project. It can be the completion of an entire project, or just the completion of a single step, but be specific (“I’m going to work on sewing this week” is not specific enough). If there are relevant photos, share those too.
  • Link back to this post, so that your readers can find other Wednesday Works-in-Progress.
  • Read about each others’ projects, cheer each other on, and get things done!

What are you waiting for? Get commenting or blogging. I want to see what everyone in the blogosphere is up to.

3 Comments to “The first EVER Work-in-Progress Wednesday!”

  1. Love love love the station!! We need that in our house. I’m sending a link to BigP!

  2. the microwave? wow. never woulda thought of that one. . .

    • Lisa, I didn’t think of the microwave… that’s an IKEA kitchen. My entire accomplishment consisted of installing the hooks for the cleaning supplies on the side and mounting the handvac on the wall…

Leave a Reply

