I know this great hole in the wall…

by Decemberbaby

No, seriously. It’s a hole… in the wall. Or it was. See?

IMG_3704

In my eternal quest for more space in our little house, I started thinking about all the wasted space between the walls. The more I thought about it, the more I pined for a shallow pantry in which to store our canned goods. My longing turned into a burning desire, which turned into the above hole. Seeing that empty cavity inside the wall made me sigh with contentment.

Then I got to work.

After enlarging the hole and building wooden carcasses for the cabinets, I slid the carcasses into the wall:

IMG_3733As you can tell in this photograph, they’re not level. That’s okay, though – neither is anything else in my house.

At this point, Mr. December frowned and complained about the gaps between the carcasses and the edge of the wall. I tried to explain the magic of trim and quarter-round, but he didn’t seem to get it… until the trim was all in place:

IMG_3839Suddenly it looks like something you might actually want in your kitchen, right?

I painted the trim…

IMG_3900

And added doors to match the rest of our kitchen (thank God for IKEA)…

IMG_4038

And then filled it up.

IMG_4039Oh, and we painted the inside my favourite colour… so now I smile every time we open our pantry. And you would not BELIEVE how much stuff it holds! The shelves are only deep enough to hold one can, which means we can always see everything in there. This pantry has freed up three whole drawers in my IKEA pull-out pantry, which now proudly house the small appliances that were cluttering my countertop. I love this thing. It’s the best hole in the wall ever.

IMG_4042

And now I’m eyeing a huge expanse of wall in the hallway where our bedrooms are. With no plumbing and no electricity running through it, that wall is wasted space just waiting for a purpose. I can’t wait to build floor-to-ceiling cupboards there to store toilet paper, lightbulbs, cleaning supplies, extra toiletries, craft materials…

If you could have a cupboard like this anywhere in your home, where would you put it? And what would you fill it with?

3 Comments to “I know this great hole in the wall…”

  1. Fantastic idea!!! I would like a cupboard like this in or near our strangely side-by-side bathrooms, which contain zero cabinets for storing anything.

  2. Oh my goodness, that is awesome! I love that you smile every time you open your pantry, perhaps I need to paint the inside of mine :)

  3. I LOVE this! Very clever use of space! And the color is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

