Work-in-Progress Wednesday – May 4 Edition

by Decemberbaby

Aaaand… I’m back! I know it’s been a long time… I was depressed enough not to realize that my depression was causing me to lose motivation and give up on projects whenever the going got a bit tough. My meds have been adjusted and I’m ready to be productive again! Won’t you join me?

Choose one project, even a tiny one, and post about it on your blog (If you don’t have a blog I’ll be happy for you to do it as a guest post on mine). Link back here so people can see other WIP Wednesday projects, and voila! Pictures make everything better, by the way.

Without further ado, here’s my entry:

Completed: K’s craft supplies

K’s craft supplies were living in the living room, and they were taking up so much space that they just had to move. Now that we’re getting the third bedroom organized (until now it’s been a clutter repository) I’ve decided to move her craft stuff in there. It’s in lovely containers, but I wanted to label it so that both adults and kids would know what was in each box. Here’s the end result:

I checked with K to make sure that she could identify all of the pictures, then I added a text box, printed on full-page labels, cut them out, and… voila.

Since you’re probably asking, those containers originally held Method “Smarty Dish” dishwasher tablets. I’m sad to note that they don’t seem to be selling them in this packaging anymore.

In Progress: Shabbat Responsibility Chart

This past Shabbat Kali and I were getting the table ready when I realized that she’s probably big enough to have her own “jobs” each week. Together we figured out that she can get her stepstool, take down the candlesticks, get the candles and set them up on the table. She’s also quite capable, now that it’s spring, of going outside to pick flowers, then coming inside and arranging them in a vase.

So my idea is this: I’m going to make a “chore chart” (although I detest that term, because getting ready for Shabbat usually feels very special and not chore-like) for us. There will be an image for each job, and then magnets with our faces on them, and we can put faces next to the jobs so that we all know which job is whose. Guess who gets stuck with cooking a three-course meal every time?

No “before” image for this one, but I’ll post the “after” for you next week.

And that’s all. Please add your projects to Work-in-Progress Wednesday… it’s getting lonely out here.

2 Responses to “Work-in-Progress Wednesday – May 4 Edition”

  1. I will! Bear with me because I have all these great blogging intentions that life seems to get in the way of. I am committed to next Wednesday, though, promise. I’ve had a similar craft supply labeling solution banging around my head, but yours is light years beyond mine. I can copy it, right? Stealing is the sincerest form of flattery?

    Hope things continue to look up (oversimplification, I know). For me also, that productivity feeling (wanting to be, not just the thing itself) is always a good sign that things are going well.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

